Call for Papers

Variability management is a major challenge in the development, maintenance, and evolution of software-intensive systems. An important precondition to the effective and efficient management of variability is that it must be explicitly modelled. Thus VaMoS 2016 will focus broadly on innovative work in the area of variability modelling and management. We particularly invite contributions with a strong variability modelling aspect, but also addressing the wider area of variability management, e.g., requirements, architecture, implementation, and evolution. The VaMoS workshop series aims at bringing together researchers from different areas dedicated to mastering variability to discuss advantages, drawbacks, and complementarities of various approaches and to present new results for mastering variability throughout the whole life cycle of systems, system families, and product lines. The workshop will feature invited keynotes as well as peer-reviewed paper presentations.

Important Dates

Paper submission deadline (extended): November 9, 2015 November 23, 2015
Notification of acceptance (extended): December 7, 2015 December 10, 2015
Workshop in Salvador: January 27-29, 2016

Workshop Format

VaMoS 2016, like the previous VaMoS workshops, will be a highly interactive event. Each session is organized such that discussions among presenters of papers, discussants and other participants are stimulated. Typically, after a paper is presented, it is immediately discussed by pre-assigned discussants, after which a free discussion involving all participants follows. Each session is closed by a general discussion of all papers presented in the session. The workshop language is English. Attendance is open to authors of accepted papers, invited speakers, organizers, PC members, and to guest visitors who commit to become assigned as discussants of papers.

Topics (non-exclusive)

  • Variability across the software life cycle
  • Separation of concerns and modularity
  • Variability evolution
  • Variability mining
  • Reverse engineering for variability
  • Feature, aspect, and service orientation
  • Software configuration management
  • Architecture and design approaches for variability
  • Software economic aspects of variability
  • Visualization and management of variability
  • Adaptivity at runtime and development time
  • Formal reasoning and automated analysis of variability
  • Programming languages and tool support
  • Case studies and empirical studies


  • Research papers describing novel contributions to the field of variability.
  • Problem statements describing open issues of theoretical or practical nature.
  • Reports on positive or negative experiences with techniques and tools related to VaMoS
  • Surveys and comparative studies that investigate pros, cons and complementarities of existing VaMoS-related approaches.
  • Research-in-progress reports including research results at a premature stage
  • Vision papers stating where the research in the field should be heading towards
  • Tool demonstrations describing the variability-related features of CASE tools.

Submissions must be in English.

The length of the submitted papers should be between 4 and 8 pages in ACM proceedings format (

Easychair submission site:


The proceedings of the workshop will be published in ACM’s International Conference Proceedings Series, which includes a publication in the ACM digital library. Previous editions of VaMoS have been indexed in the DBLP repository (


Program Co-Chairs:
Ina Schaefer, Technische Universität Braunschweig, DE
Vander Alves, University of Brasilia, BR

General Chair:
Eduardo Almeida, Federal University of Bahia and RiSE Labs, BR

Program Committee:
Mathieu Acher, University of Rennes I / INRIA, FR
David Benavides, University of Seville, ES
Thorsten Berger, University of Waterloo, CA
Goetz Botterweck, Lero, University of Limerick, IE
Philippe Collet, Université Nice Sophia Antipolis – CNRS/I3S, FR
Krzysztof Czarnecki, University of Waterloo, CA
Martin Erwig, Oregon State University, US
Rohit Gheyi, Federal University of Campina Grande, BR
Paul Gruenbacher, Johannes Kepler University, AT
Øystein Haugen, Østfold University College, NO
Christian Kästner, Carnegie Mellon University, US
Uirá Kulesza, Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte, BR
Malte Lochau, TU Darmstadt, DE
Johannes Kristan, Bosch SI, DE
Rick Rabiser, Johannes Kepler University, AT
Iris Reinhartz-Berger, University of Haifa, IL
Georg Rock, Trier University of Applied Sciences, DE
Julia Rubin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, US
Camille Salinesi, CRI, Université de Paris1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, FR
Klaus Schmid, University of Hildesheim, DE
Michael Schulze, pure-systems GmbH, DE
Christoph Seidl, Technische Universität Braunschweig, DE
Norbert Siegmund, University of Passau, DE
Maurice H. Ter Beek, ISTI-CNR, IT
Salvador Trujillo, IKERLAN Research Centre, ES
Karina Villela, Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering, DE
Andrzej Wasowski, IT University of Copenhagen, DK
Claudia Werner, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, BR

Steering Committee:
Ulrich Eisenecker, University of Leipzig, DE
Patrick Heymans, PReCISE, University of Namur, BE
Kyo-Chul Kang, Samsung Electronics, KR
Andreas Metzger, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE
Klaus Pohl, University of Duisburg-Essen, DE